John Pistelli

writer

Links: Me, Elsewhere

1.

While I don’t even really know who Ira Glass is, I thought the response to his anti-Shakespeare tweet was missing a broader perspective, so I wrote an essay for The Millions attempting to provide one, giving some good reasons why people across the ages, from Tolstoy to Wittgenstein to Joyce to Woolf, have criticized Shakespeare–oh, and, what this has to do with elements of pop culture criticism in our own day:

“Nothing Is at Stake: On Shakespeare, Lana Del Rey, and the Relatable”

2.

I’ve also decided to be more active over at Goodreads.  I’d been using it just to catalogue books read, but writing brief reviews–to save more of what I’ve read from the oblivion of forgetfulness–started to seem attractive.  Here’s my “shelf,” and here are my first five reviews: Dante’s Purgatorio, Dostoevsky’s Demons, George Steiner’s Tolstoy or Dostoevsky, Bolaño’s By Night in Chile, and Gayl Jones’s Corregidora.

2 comments on “Links: Me, Elsewhere

  1. Thom Hickey
    8 August 2014

    Thanks. Pleased to have found your thoughtful blog and I look forward to further exploration. Regards from Thom at the immortal jukebox.

Leave a Reply

